The hardest sport I have ever played.

For my 30th birthday I received a pair of hockey skates as a present. I took up the game the following year. I have played many different sports in my life, but none more difficult than this one. The balance, skill, power and finesse required to play this game take years to develop and it is only these past few years that I am finally starting to feel comfortable on my skates.

I finally played for the first time this year these past two nights. I played with guys who barely spoke any English. Up here in Quebec kids are born with skates on their feet and sticks in their hands. It’s fun to play with guys that are this skilled and are willing to help you improve despite the language barrier. Sometimes I wonder how well I could have played this game if I had another 25+ years of experience.

Leave a Reply

