Brilliant in spurts!

In six months since I have started my re-reinvention process I have learned a great deal about myself. I have learned to act on my instincts and I have also learned to not force the creative process. I have also realized that I am built to grind things out over the long haul, but I work much better in short spurts.

I have been grinding it out my whole life. Long hours of practice, long hours of travel, long hours of work and long hours of preparation to become good at some of the things that I do. And while those long hours are sometimes necessary it is easy to get caught up in a pattern and routinely grind things out for hours at a time when you could actually tighten things up a bit with a short, but highly focused attention to detail. Practice does not make perfect, perfect practice makes perfect.

Now with certain things in life such as with sports and music, two areas where I have had success in life, you need to put in lots of time to be good. Focused practice in the short term isn’t going to get you where you need to be because you need to develop the physical tools required to get to a certain level. Still if you can focus towards improving rather than going through the motions you are going to arrive faster at your goal.

In the end I have found that focusing all of my energy into the task at hand for a shorter time period is actually helping me to accomplish higher quality work.

Leave a Reply

