Becoming a modern day renaissance man

Renaissance man as defined by the Oxford English Dictionary:

  • A person with many talents or areas of knowledge.

Renaissance man as defined by the American Heritage Dictionary:

  • A person who has broad intellectual interests and is accomplished in areas of both the arts and the sciences.

Renaissance man as defined by the Merriam Webster Dictionary:

  • A person who has wide interests and is expert in several areas.

I’m still trying to find my niche in this world and what I am discovering is that I really don’t fit into any one place at all. My interests and expertise are also very broad. In life I have been a jack of all trades and in all of them I have manged to excel at a high level. I’ve done well in music, I’ve achieved well at sports and I’ve held both blue and white collar jobs where I have made a name for myself. I’m trying new things and expanding my interest in the arts. I’m working towards one day opening a business, maybe two, maybe even three. I am also very interested in cooking and getting quite good at putting some good food on the table at home (at least my wife thinks so!)

So which niche do I fill in society? One of the above? Why limit myself to only one or even two? Why not all of the above?

A modern day renaissance man if you will.

Leave a Reply

