Maximum heart rate achieved!

As part of my re-reinvention I have decided to get back into peak physical form. I have continued to work out and play sports regularly, but mostly for fun and to get some competitive juices flowing again. I’m still in fairly good shape, but I’m no where near where I was 15 years ago. OK it’s true I’m not 20 years old anymore and also my love of things like pizza and ice cream will always keep me from having that super chiseled beach body that you see photo shopped in magazines everywhere!

So today I decided to go for a run. Only 5K today so I could judge where I am with regard to my fitness level. I managed to run the entire way in a shade over 20 minutes. I ran with the heart rate monitor and managed to get my peak heart rate up to 187 BPM (which also happens to be my maximum) with an average of 169 BPM for the whole run. No cramping, no feeling lightheaded, but a definite drop in pace for the last 1/4 of the run. Yet another reminder that I am not 20 years old anymore!

Leave a Reply

